Data Cart

Your data extract

0 variables
0 samples
View Cart
Region of residence

Codes and Frequencies

Can't find the category you are looking for? Try the Detailed codes


REGION reports the region of the U.S. where the housing unit containing survey participants was located. The geographic information included in REGION was added during processing, rather than ascertained via questioning. REGION is the smallest geographic unit identified in the IPUMS NHIS data for 1985 forward. In 1968-1984, a limited number (under 30) metropolitan areas were also identified (METAREA).

The four regions--Northeast, North Central/Midwest, South, and West--correspond to the U.S. regions recognized by the Census Bureau. Divisions and states included in the four regions are as follows:

Northeast: New England Division (Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut) and Middle Atlantic Division (New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania)

North Central/Midwest: East North Central Division (Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin) and West North Central Division (Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, North Dakota, South Dakota, Kansas, and Nebraska)

South: South Atlantic Division (Delaware, Maryland, District of Columbia, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida), East South Central Division (Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, and Alabama), and West South Central Division (Texas, Arkansas, Oklahoma, and Louisiana)

West: Pacific Division (Washington, Alaska, Oregon, California, and Hawaii) and Mountain Division (Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, Utah, and Nevada).


This variable is completely comparable over time.


  • 1963-2018: All households.


  • 1963-2018